in Algae by

1 Answer

0 votes

The various types of asexual spores found in algae are:

  1. Zoospores: They are flagellated motile spores
  2. Aplanospores: They are non motile spores
  3. Akinetes (Arthrospores): They are resting spores. They are thick-walled and store large amounts of food material. They are formed to tide over the unfavorable environmental conditions. At the return of favorable conditions, they germinate to form new colonies.
  4. Statospores: They are also known as resting spores, endospores or cysts. They are meant for perennation. They are smaller than the vegetative cell.