in Lymphatic System and Immune System by

1 Answer

0 votes

The lymphatic system consists of lymph, lymphatic capillaries, lymphatic vessels, lymph nodes and lymphatic organs.

1. Lymph:

  1. It is the interstitial fluid (tissue fluid) present between the cells of a tissue.
  2. It is colourless or yellowish fluid present in the lymph vessels.
  3. It is composed of 94% water and 6% solids.
  4. Lymph=Blood – [RBCs + Plasma proteins + platelets]

2. Lymphatic capillaries:

  1. Small, thin walled vessels lined by endothelium resting on a basement membrane.
  2. They are present throughout the body except spinal cord, brain, internal ear, bone marrow, eye ball.

3. Lymphatic vessels or ducts:

  1. Formed by joining of lymphatic capillaries.
  2. Numerous, present in various part of the body.
  3. Made up of three layer – Tunica externa, tunica media and tunica interna.
  4. Two main types of lymphatic ducts:

a. Right lymphatic duct:

  • Smallest lymphatic duct. (length approximately 1.25 cm)
  • Collects lymph from upper right side of the body.
  • Carries lymph to the right sub-clavian vein.

b. Thoracic duct (Left lymphatic duct):

  • Longest lymphatic duct (length approximately 38-45 cm).
  • Carries lymph to the left sub-clavian vein.
  • Collects lymph from the left part of head, neck, thoracic cavity and left arms.

4. Lymph nodes (Lymph Glands):

  1. Masses of lymphatic tissue and connective tissue.
  2. Small, oval bean-like structures.
  3. Present in the neck axilla, thorax, abdomen and groin region.

5. Lymphatic organs:

  1. Primary lymphatic organs → Red bone marrow and Thymus
  2. Secondary lymphatic organs → Spleen (Largest component of lymphatic system) and Tonsils.
Biology Questions and Answers for Grade 10, Grade 11 and Grade 12 students, Junior and Senior High Schools, Junior Colleges, Undergraduate biology programs and Medical Entrance exams.