in Neural Control and Coordination (Nervous System) by

2 Answers

0 votes
edited by

Human eyeball is made up of three layers viz. 1) Sclera, 2) Choroid and 3) Retina.

Blind spot: It is the place present in the posterior region of the eyeball where optic nerve leaves the eyeball. It is so called because the cells of the retina i.e. rods and cons are totally absent in this region.

Yellow spot: It is the small elevation of the retina present near the blind spot called macula lutea. It is compactly packed with cons and it appears yellow in colour so called yellow spot. It has high resolution.enlightened

0 votes

Yellow spot:

  1. The sensory layer called retina, consists of two types of cells, the rods and cones.
  2. The rods are sensitive to dim light and do not distinguish colors, where as the cone cells are sensitive to bright light and can distinguish colors.
  3. The cone cells are most numerous the back of the eye, opposite the pupil.
  4. This part is somewhat depressed and is known as the yellow spot or fovea.

Blind spot:

  1. The sensory fibres from the retina bundle together and emerge from the back of eye ball as the optic nerve.
  2. At the exit of the optic nerve there are no rods or cones.
  3. The part of the image falling at this place is not perceived.
  4. So, this place is called blind spot.
Biology Questions and Answers for Grade 10, Grade 11 and Grade 12 students, Junior and Senior High Schools, Junior Colleges, Undergraduate biology programs and Medical Entrance exams.