in Sexual reproduction in flowering plants by

1 Answer

0 votes

The female gametophyte located within the nucellus is called as Embryo Sac.

  1. It is an oval shaped structure present towards the micropylar end of the nucellus.
  2. It is an eight nucleated structure and seven celled structure.
  3. It consists of egg apparatus, secondary nucleus and antipodals.
  4. Egg apparatus is a group of 3 haploid cells. It is present towards micropylar end. The middle cell is called an egg and two lateral cells are called synergids.
  5. Secondary nucleus: Two polar nuclei fused at the centre of an embryo sac to form secondary nucleus.
  6. Antipodals: A group of 3 haploid cells present towards the chalazal end.
Biology Questions and Answers for Grade 10, Grade 11 and Grade 12 students, Junior and Senior High Schools, Junior Colleges, Undergraduate biology programs and Medical Entrance exams.