in Classification of Living Organism by

1 Answer

0 votes


  1. The various ranks or units of hierarchical classification are termed as categories.
  2. In the system of classification, the various taxa are assigned definite ranks or positions according to their taxonomic status.
  3. Each such taxonomic rank is called the taxonomic category.
  4. Categories remain more or less the same for the classification of any plant type.
  5. They are represented on the left side.
  6. They are always used in descending order in the classification.
  7. The categories in the descending order are as follows:
    Kingdom – Sub-kingdom – Division/Phylum – Sub-phylum – Class – Sub-class – Series – Order – Family- Genus- Species
  8. Category only indicates the rank or status of the taxon in the systematic hierarchy.
Biology Questions and Answers for Grade 10, Grade 11 and Grade 12 students, Junior and Senior High Schools, Junior Colleges, Undergraduate biology programs and Medical Entrance exams.