in Body Fluids and Circulation (Cardiovascular System, Circulatory system) by

1 Answer

+1 vote
selected by
Best answer

An normal ECG (electrocardiogram) consist of P, Q, R, S and T waves.

P wave indicates initiation artrial depolarisation (contraction) and the time between P to Q is the artrial depolarisation time which is 0.1 sec.

The QRS is related with ventricle depolarisation (contraction). The wave QR indicates initiation of ventricular depolarisation and the interval RST indicates ventricular depolarisation time which is 0.3 sec.

The wave T indicates initiation of complete/joint diastole of both the auricle and ventricle and the time of joint diastole is 0.4 sec.

That's way a beat completes in 0.8 sec (i.e. auricular + ventricular contraction = 0.4 sec and joint diastole of both is 0.4 sec thus total = 0.8 sec).

Biology Questions and Answers for Grade 10, Grade 11 and Grade 12 students, Junior and Senior High Schools, Junior Colleges, Undergraduate biology programs and Medical Entrance exams.