in Neural Control and Coordination (Nervous System) by

1 Answer

0 votes

Ear ossicles:

The middle ear is an air filled cavity and consists of tympanic membrane, oval windows, round windows, and the ossicles. Sound is amplified here.

Middle ear contains three auditory ossicles called the malleus, incus and stapes. Collectively, they are called the ossicles. These ossicles are attached to one another in a chain-like fashion (malleus to incus, incus to stapes).

Ossicles amplify sound waves. (increase the efficiency of transmission of sound waves to the inner ear)

Malleus is attached to the tympanic membrane (inner layer of the ear drum)

Incus is the middle of three ossicles. It is attached to the malleus and stapes

Stapes is attached to the oval window of the cochlea.

The oval window leads to the inner ear.

Biology Questions and Answers for Grade 10, Grade 11 and Grade 12 students, Junior and Senior High Schools, Junior Colleges, Undergraduate biology programs and Medical Entrance exams.